How Family Violence Charges Are Different In Texas
In the past few years, the world has changed dramatically. Drastic changes in how we work, where we are able to go and the level of our perceived ratio of threat has increased. Stressors have increased, and relationships have been pushed to the brink.
Both accusations and charges of domestic assault are serious and should be taken seriously as they can affect child custody and firearm rights as well as your criminal record. At Villanueva, Salazar & Tucker PLLC, our team of attorneys has extensive experience on both sides of this criminal defense issue. We provide a full-scope perspective when it comes to your defense.
Types Of Charges We Defend
The dynamics of any relationship can change. In some cases, an accusation of abuse or violence can stem from a breakup or divorce or deep-seated anger relating to a different matter. We investigate your issue and carefully review all the evidence. We offer strong defense for a broad base of charges including:
- Spousal or intimate partner violence or abuse
- Child abuse
- Sibling abuse
- Grandparent/grandchild abuse
- Terroristic threats
- Interference with an emergency call
- Violation of a protective order
The ramifications and penalties are often greater when a family member or domestic partner is involved. Assault charges can range from poking someone in the chest during an argument to pushing or shoving to slapping, hitting or kicking to behaving in a threatening manner. It is always advised to consult an attorney whose focus is Texas criminal defense issues if you are accused of or charged with any kind of domestic violence.
What To Do If You Are Accused Or Arrested
It is in your best interests to fully understand what the accusation or charges entail. You will want to understand what your rights and options are, given your relationship with the person who accused you, your history and the circumstances. A criminal defense attorney is best suited to advise you of this and offer counsel as to what steps to take next.
As stated, domestic violence charges are serious. They can involve either misdemeanor or felony charges.
- A misdemeanor that does not involve bodily harm is punishable by a fine of up to $500. A misdemeanor that involves physical assault can mean one year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
- A felony can be charged if there are prior domestic assault convictions or when strangulation or suffocation was involved. The penalties are from two to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Texas law provides alternative sentencing in some cases, including probation or a deferred adjudication for a first-time offender. Speak with an established criminal defense attorney to learn about your options.
Connect With Our Team To Learn About Your Options
If you’ve been charged with a domestic or family violence charge, speak with an attorney right away. A conviction will stay on your record and can impede your ability to own a firearm or retain an occupational license. Call the team at Villanueva, Salazar & Tucker PLLC at 512-575-3940 or connect via our website contact form. With an office in Round Rock, we serve clients throughout the Austin area.